“Moon” Wines at Trader Joe’s

Most people have heard of Charles Shaw, aka 2 Buck Chuck. In fact, it has its own wiki entry! There is also this website, but I’m not sure how legit it is based on the graphics, and given the fact that TJ’s doesn’t list its products on its website/online, from what I can see. Anyway, it’s basically an ok $2 bottle of wine. Put another way, if you’ve only got $2, and you want to drink some wine, you get your money’s worth. I’ve tried their Cab, Pinot Grigio, and Chardonnay, and they aren’t too bad.I’d definitely buy the Chardonnay for a party if I didn’t have a lot to spend.

In addition to another store named line of wines, which are slightly more expensive, and perhaps slightly more potable, there is a relatively recently new line, each label of which contains the Moon in the title.  Due to limited information available on the web, I can’t say exactly how long they have been around, but I’d guess for 2-3 years or so.

The three main moon wines I have been interested in lately are Velvet Moon (Cab), Honey Moon (Viognier), and Venetian Moon (Pinot Grigio). (I’ve linked to some reviews for more detailed info/reviews, and pictures of the labels). They run around $5, and are pretty good, with the Cab probably being the best out of the three. If you had to throw a party, or get a bunch of small gifts for an exchange, e.g. Oprah’s $5 favorite thing party, then I’d recommend these.

Cheers!

ETA: VintTJ’s is the other line by TJoe’s that I couldn’t remember. Although I have tried it before, I can’t recall enough details to be helpful. So look for a forthcoming review.

This entry was posted in Wine Recommendations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Moon” Wines at Trader Joe’s

  1. John says:

    You have to be kidding about http://www.charlesshawwine.org/ – it’s obvious that it’s a link-bait site set up by someone for whom English is a second (or fifth) language.

    Note that among the Moon wines there is also an “Old Moon”, which is a (red) Zinfandel.

  2. sdlawmama says:

    Haha! I didn’t read it too thoroughly, but it definitely seemed suspect.

    I have tried the Old Moon, but don’t remember it being particularly noteworthy, though this could perhaps be due to my lack of enthusiasm towards Zins.

Leave a Reply

